Choosing a title

It is often difficult to begin a new creative work. Little things can trip you up. Names, of all varieties, can be particularly vexing. Sometimes what you choose to call a work in progress can inspire you even when the wells creativity run a little dry. Picking a title for my book is an important step for me. Even if said book never lives up to its name.

This year, my NaNoWriMo novel shall be (pause for dramatic effect): Mumbled Inconsistencies.

This fits perfectly. Every time I try to summarize the plot, it ends up sounding like a jumbled mess of failed ideas. Which is what happens you when you try to squish all your stories that weren’t worth more than a couple thousand words together. And since I spent those agonizing minutes searching random words to assemble this title, I’m sticking with it even if I suddenly come up with a fully formed plot that in no way reflects Mumbled Inconsistencies. It reflects my creative process, and that is what matters at the moment.

This entry was posted in Be Prepared. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Choosing a title

  1. Personally, I don’t worry too much about titles until I’m done with the book. I always have a working title that seems to fit, but ultimately it gets changed when I get a better handle on the novel. There has only been one case where the working title stuck, but that was odd.

  2. Leauxra says:

    Ahh. I am considering calling mine, “Unnamed Story that’s About a Guy on Mars Who Does Stuff.”

    It’s a… working title.

    I just can’t make anything fit. Or I can’t make anything fit that doesn’t sound like a scientific journal.

  3. talon2claw says:

    I do enjoy the long, rambling titles. My worst title was ‘A Working Title I Absolutely Hate’. I should have just gone without a title that year.

Leave a Reply

